No Age

Goons Be Gone




Summer 2020, and No Age are back out on the street! Effortlessly raw and extravagant in one practiced swoop, they set their live/bedroom internal clock and get out early into a glorious windtunnel of naked beats and sunbaked guitars, forming a wave from which they hang eleven tunes. A perfectly balanced set, ranging from their classic punk and indie to ever-evolving soundscapes, in maybe their most direct statement yet. A guitar/drums duo (Randall and drummer/vocalist Dean Spunt) with a penchant for self-recorded samples, No Age are mostly unconcerned with things like space or pause, and Goons Be Gone is gorgeously thick– a hazy, delirious expanse that’s both comforting and disorienting. Listening to Goons Be Gone, it’s hard to comprehend how just two people can manage to make so much noise while still sounding so subdued and mysterious– it’s easier to imagine Randall and Spunt spewing these songs underwater, bursting forth from some colossal California quarry rather than a tiny, stuffy art space a few blocks from L.A.’s skid row. Ultimately, it’s part of No Age’s allure that Goons Be Gone is so difficult to figure out, that it manages to be so big while coming from a place so small: All you’ll know for sure is that you want to listen longer. Maybe forever.

Label: Drag City
Genre: Rock
Stil: Art Rock, Indie Rock, Punk
Artist: No Age
Land: USA & Europe
Jahr: 2020
Format: 1x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Album, LP


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Sandalwood 02:31
A2 Feeler 02:40
A3 Smoothie 03:53
A4 Working Stiff Takes A Break 01:01
A5 War Dance 02:33
A6 Toes In The Water 03:11
B1 Turned To String 03:41
B2 A Sigh Clicks 02:26
B3 Puzzled 03:59
B4 Head Sport Full Face 03:55
B5 Agitating Moss 03:05