Cochemea Gastelum

Vol 2: Baca Sewa




The Dap-Kings’ electro-sax space warrior returns with a groove-heavy sequel to All My Relations. Vol. II: Baca Sewa, an
expressive, transcendental voyage through the archives of his indigenous roots and beyond. Drawing on ancestral memories and
family histories to wrap new flesh around the bones of history, this album is a bold, semi-autobiographical work that leads us
deeper into the annals of family histories, mythology and the cultural imaginary.

Leading a 7-piece ensemble composed of New York’s top percussionists and members of Daptone’s rhythm section, Cochemea
recombined ancient elements of drums, winds, and voice, creating his own world of emotional textures and rhythmic possibilities.
His musical and spiritual synthesis is made possible through his deep reverence of the horn and of the music and traditions
preceding him. Vol II: Baca Sewa – is an offering and continuation of Cochemea’s explorations, part of a musical process of
cultural reclamation and healing through connection, relations, memory and imagination.

Label: Daptone Records
Genre: Folk, World, & Country, Funk / Soul, Jazz, Latin
Artist: Cochemea Gastelum
Land: US
Jahr: 2021
Format: 1x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Limited Edition, LP


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Burning Plain
A2 Tukaria
A3 Mimbrenos
A4 Chito’s Song
A5 Nahsuareo Bwikam
B1 Black Pearl
B2 Peace Prayer
B3 Curandera
B4 Baca Sewa (Chant)
B5 Baca Sewa (Song)