Ben LaMar Gay

Open Arms to Open Us




Ben LaMar Gay’s critically-lauded 2018 break out Downtown Castles Can Never Block The Sun was more like a greatest hits than a debut album, as it compiled the best of the prolific but obscurity-prone Chicago native artist’s previously unreleased music. Open Arms to Open Us will be our first release of brand new, freshly baked tunes by Gay, a collection recorded entirely at International Anthem studios in Chicago between March-June 2021. Featured artists on the album include: OHMME singers Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart, bassist/vocalist/arranger Ayanna Woods, multi-disciplinary Rwandan artist Dorothée Munyaneza, poet A.Martinez, cellist Tomeka Reid, and vocalists Onye Ozuzu, Gira Dahnee, and Angel Bat Dawid.

Label: International Anthem Recording Company, Nonesuch
Genre: Jazz
Stil: Contemporary Jazz
Artist: Ben LaMar Gay
Land: US, USA & Europe
Jahr: 2021
Format: 1x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Album, Limited Edition, LP


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Sometimes I Forget How Summer Looks On You
A2 Hood Rich Happy
A3 Bang Melodically Bang
A4 Aunt Lola And The Quail
A5 Mestre Candeia’s Denim Hat
A6 Oh Great Be the Lake
A7 I Be Loving Me Some Of You
A8 Nyuzura
B9 Slightly Before The Dawn
B10 Lean Back. Try Igbo
B11 Dress Me In New Love
B12 Touch. Don’t Scroll
B13 I Once Carried A Blossom
B14 In Tongues And In Droves
B15 S’Phisticated Lady
B16 We Gon Win