Zola Jesus





Black & White Swirl Vinyl – For over a decade, Nika Roza Danilova has been recording music as ZOLA JESUS. She’s been on Sacred Bones Records for most of that time, and Okovi marks her reunion with the label. Fittingly, the 11 electronics-driven songs on Okovi share musical DNA with her early work on Sacred Bones. The music was written in pure catharsis, and as a result, the sonics are heavy, dark, and exploratory.

In addition to the contributions of Danilova’s longtime live bandmate Alex DeGroot, producer/musician WIFE, cellist/noise-maker Shannon Kennedy from PEDESTRIAN DEPOSIT, and percussionist Ted Byrnes all helped build Okovi’s textural universe. With Okovi, ZOLA JESUS has crafted a profound meditation on loss and reconciliation that stands tall alongside the major works of its genre. The album peaks of tragedy with great wisdom and clarity.

Label: Sacred Bones Records
Genre: Electronic, Pop
Stil: Experimental, Vocal
Artist: Zola Jesus
Land: UK, Europe & US
Jahr: 2017
Format: 1x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Album, Limited Edition, LP


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Doma
A2 Exhumed
A3 Soak
A4 Ash To Bone
A5 Witness
A6 Siphon
B7 Veka
B8 Wiseblood
B10 Remains
B11 Half Life