Aretha Franklin, The Ray Bryant Combo





This essential LP release contains Franklin’s magnificent debut album for Columbia, Aretha (1961), featuring a series of All Star groups conducted by pianist Ray Bryant. Producer John Hammond followed the formula he once prescribed for his “discovery” Billie Holiday: standards and blues with a jazz rhythm section plus horns and “head charts.” Per Hammond, there was “an almost complete absence of arrangements” for the LP. Ironically, there was no Ray Bryant Combo; as Bryant once declared that his “combo” was invented for the album. Featuring a virtual who’s who of fabulous musicians from the East Coast jazz scene, including Tyree Glenn, Osie Johnson, Milt Hinton, Al Sears and Ray Bryant himself, among others.

Label: Columbia, Music On Vinyl
Genre: Funk / Soul
Artist: Aretha Franklin, The Ray Bryant Combo
Land: Europe
Jahr: 2022
Format: 1x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Album, Limited Edition, LP, Numbered, Reissue, Stereo


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Won’t Be Long
A2 Over The Rainbow
A3 Love Is The Only Thing
A4 Sweet Lover
A5 All Night Long
A6 Who Needs You?
B1 Right Now
B2 Are You Sure
B3 Maybe I’m A Fool
B4 It Ain’t Necessarily So
B5 (Blue) By Myself
B6 Today I Sing The Blues