In Your Brain




The new record from San Francisco based band Monophonics entitled “In Your Brain” sits on the fuzzy psych side of soul and funk. Paying homage to innovators such as Sly Stone, Norman Whitfield and Funkedelic’s George Clinton, the 6 piece outfit displays their ability to put a moody stamp on each composition. Touching on everything from cinematic soul, heavy funk, 60’s rock and spaghetti western laced with yellow sunshine acid, the album is sure to leave you tuned in and turned on! With a new sound and a do it yourself attitude towards making records, Monophonics’ guitarist Ian McDonald and keyboardist/vocalist Kelly Finnigan took on the duties of engineering and producing. Finding influence and gear advice from Orgone’s Sergio Rios as well as articles from Daptone’s Gabe Roth and Shawn Lee, they purchased an 8-track ¼ inch tape machine, vintage microphones, spring reverbs and tape delays and dug into Finnigan’s basement in SF.

“Half the battle making records in this genre is tone and vibe, we have figured out over the years that it might be the simplest written song but with the right production it can become timeless” explains McDonald. Jumping right out of the gate is the single “There’s A Riot Going On”. Starting with a snare fill that’s reminiscent of Jimi’s “Machine Gun.” Riot displays what becomes a consistent theme on the whole record: hard drums, catchy bass lines, dirty horns, organs mixed with vibraphones, fuzz guitar and soulful vocals sitting on a sheet of echo & slap back. The title track “In Your Brain” sounds like something straight off of Funkadelic’s “Maggot Brain”, riding on the funk box and Bohlman’s snare snaps is a blaring guitar line that brings back thoughts of Eddie Hazel.

Label: Ubiquity
Genre: Funk / Soul
Stil: Funk, Psychedelic, Soul
Artist: Monophonics
Land: US
Jahr: 2022
Format: 2x Vinyl
Schlagworte: Album, LP, Reissue


Pos. Track Dauer
A1 Looking Ahead 1:39
A2 There’s A Riot Going On 3:58
A3 In Your Brain 5:02
A4 Sure Is Funky 3:48
B5 Deception 4:55
B6 All Together Featuring Fanny Franklin 3:08
B7 Say You Love Me 4:27
B8 They Don’t Understand 4:24
C9 Mirage 6:31
C10 Foolish Love 7:57
D11 Thinking Black 3:23
D12 Bang Bang 3:36
D13 Temptation 6:10
D14 Keep Looking Ahead 1:35